Monday, December 12, 2011

Pandora Gets Lazy

Pandora Gets Lazy is by Carolyn Hennesy. The third book in the Pandora series. Pandy and her friends become separated as they begin their search for laziness. Pandy must travel to the mountain where her Uncle Atlas lives alone and hope that by herself she can return laziness to the box. Will she ever find her friends or is she doomed to continue the quest on her own? If you are enjoying this series you will like this installment as well. A cute way to get girls interested in Greek mythology.

Ratings: 6th grade - 7 out of 10.

The Eye of the Forest

The Eye of the Forest is by P.B. Kerr. The fifth book in The Children of the Lamp series. The twins along with Groanin, Nimrod, and Zadie must head for the Amazon jungle to find the Eye of the Forest and prevent Dybbuk and McCreeby from performing a ritual that will end the world. But as things seem to keep stalling their progress they begin to wonder if they have a traitor in their midst.

Ratings: 7th grade - 8 out of 10.

Immortal Fire

Immortal Fire is by Anne Ursu. The final installment in The Cronus Chronicles. After having been to the Underworld and then battling Poseidon, Charlotte and Zee must head for Olympus to take on Zeus himself. They must find the fire Prometheus stole from the gods and take it to Olympus to force Zeus to intervene and save the world. They must also face a final show down with Philonecron who wants to dethrone the king of the gods and take over himself.

Ratings: 7th grade - 8 out of 10.

Poetry for Young People: William Butler Yeats

Poetry for Young People: William Butler Yeats is edited by Jonathan Allison. Another wonderful selection of poems and marvelous illustrations in this fabulous series. A must have for all teachers and a must read for all poetry lovers.

Ratings: 6th grade - 9 out of 10.

Monday, December 5, 2011

The Fall

The Fall is by Garth Nix. This is the first book in Nix's The Seventh Tower series. Tal is one of the Chosen living in a castle lighted by Sunstones. When his father disappears with their primary Sunstone, Tal must find another one to save his family. After trying several different methods to gain a Sunstone by following the rules he decides in desperation to steal one. He climbs the tower, reaches for a Sunstone, and then falls into a strange world where his adventure really begins. Fans of Nix's work will enjoy this series for younger readers.

Ratings: 6th grade - 7 out of 10.

Night of the Howling Dogs

Night of the Howling Dogs is by Graham Salisbury. This is a fictionalized account of a Scout Troop from Hawaii who must survive an earthquake and tsunami on a remote Hawaiian beach. Salisbury's cousin was one of the scout's that went on this ill-fated campout and although this account if fiction Salisbury uses his cousin's memories of the event to make the tale believably tragic. A great read boys will love.

Ratings: 6th grade - 9 out of 10.

Urchin and the Raven War

Urchin and the Raven War is by M. I. McAllister. This is the fourth installment in The Mistmantle Chronicles. In this adventure we find Urchin, King Crispin, and the other Mistmantle animals involved in a war to save their beloved island from a horde of evil ravens led by the Taloness and the Silver Prince. This story brings in new characters and revisits old favorites and fans of this series will love this book as well.

Ratings: 6th grade - 8 out of 10.


Sharlie is by Lynda Johnson. This is a charming fantasy of a mermaid and a young sea monster who must find a magical crown to save the world they love. It is filled with enjoyable description and magical characters. A tale for children of all ages.

Ratings: 6th grade - 6 out of 10.

Malcolm X: By Any Means Necessary

Malcolm X: By Any Means Necessary is by Walter Dean Myers. This biography is written by one of the most talented writers of young adult literature today. Very well researched, it follows Malcolm from his birth to his assassination and gives you a look into the mind and heart of this controversial individual. A thoroughly enjoyable and educational read.

Ratings: 7th grade - 8 out of 10.

Erak's Ransom

Erak's Ransom is by John Flanagan. This is the 7th book in the Ranger's Apprentice series. This story actually takes place between books 5 & 6. Erak, the Skandian, has been captured by a desert tribe and Will, Halt, Gilan, Evalyn, Horace, and Svengal set out to ransom him. However things don't go as planned and Will becomes lost in the desert while the others are captured by the same desert bandits who took Erak. Can Will save himself and the others? Another brilliant and entertaining adventure in this magnificent series.

Ratings: 7th grade - 10 out of 10.