Monday, January 26, 2015

Shell Game

Shell Game is by Ridley Pearson. The fifth book in the Kingdom Keepers series. The Keepers are going on a Disney cruise, and the OT's are coming aboard as well. The Keepers are trying to recover the missing journal stolen from Disney and the OT's are trying to kill the Keepers. The plot in this series continues to unfold in surprising ways. Fans will not be disappointed.

Ratings: 7th grade - 8 out of 10.

Saturday, January 24, 2015

The Book of the Dead

The Book of the Dead is by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child. The seventh book in the Agent Pendergast series. Pendergast is in prison, D'Agosta and Glinn are trying to break him out. Nora has been assigned to head up the opening of the Tomb of Senef, which Diogenes intends to hijack for his own evil purposes. Constance finds herself being courted by Diogenes in Pendegast's absence. A wonderful finale to the "Diogenes trilogy". This series continues to fascinate, horrify, and delight.

Ratings: Adult - 9 out of 10 - P (profanity) - V (violence) - AC (mature thematic content).

Sunday, January 18, 2015

The Wolves of Midwinter

The Wolves of Midwinter is by Anne Rice. The second book in The Wolf Gift Chronicles. Reuben, Laura, and the Distinguished Gentlemen are planning a Christmas Celebration for the town of Nidek and their friends and family. They are also planning a special Yule celebration for themselves. Reuben is worried about Laura's change, a "family" problem that has surfaced, and now he is seeing the ghost of Marchent Nidek. Other Morphenkinder also appear at Nidek Point to participate in the Yule celebrations, but they are not happy with Felix and his group, and Felix's friendship with the "Forest Gentry". A wonderful sequel to the first book.

Ratings: Adult - 9 out of 10 - P (profanity) - V (violence) - AC (mature thematic content).

Saturday, January 3, 2015

How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents

How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents is by Julia Alvarez. A masterful selection of short vignettes centering on the Garcia De La Torre family who must flee the Dominican Republic when their father's part in overthrowing the dictatorial government is uncovered. These stories cover the four Garcia daughters, their parents, and an assortment of relatives and friends as they attempt to adjust to life in America and the challenges of their family's past. A look at a family caught between two worlds. A classic must read.

Ratings: 9th grade - 9 out of 10 - P (profanity) - V (violence) - AC (some mature thematic content).